Fagnolle, Mariembourg, Couvin, Brûly-de-Pesche
A - The feudal castle Voir sur la carte
Built on the initiative of the Counts of Hainaut, since the 12th century Fagnolles Castle has stood on a piece of ground surrounded by moats, with a keep that was modernised in the 15th century.
The castle can not be visited
Exploring the village: http://www.beauxvillages.be
B - Mariembourg - The stronghold Voir sur la carte
This town is an old stronghold established in 1546 by Mary of Hungary, the sister of Charles V and Governor of the Netherlands, opposite the stronghold of Maubert-Fontaine, on French territory. In 1659, the Treaty of the Pyrenees made Mariembourg a French town. After a visit from Louis XIV, Vauban modified its fortifications. Integrated into the department of the Ardennes at the time of the Revolution, Mariembourg remained French in 1814. The town held out against 7,000 Prussian soldiers during a 32-day siege from 24 June to 30 July 1815, before rejoining the kingdom of the Netherlands.
Although the star-shaped geometric street plan has been retained, the ditches and fortifications were razed in 1853.
Place Marie de Hongrie
Tel : 0032(0) 60 39 03 79
C - Brasserie des Fagnes Voir sur la carte
The Brasserie des Fagnes brewery has been making beer for over a century and a half. Visitors can experience its history as they freely learn about the production method: here you can enter one of the temples of Belgian beer. The brewing processes follow the rhythm of the seasons… So the beers are more fruity in spring, light and refreshing in summer and more amber in the autumn, with more body and taste, and more alcoholic in winter, with a tendency towards strong brown beers... The Master Brewer, Luc Piron, offers a range of Brassins Spéciaux or special brews with some surprising flavours: beer with nettle, with heather flower, with organic honey, and others…
Some of the beers are available only from the Brasserie des Fagnes. After brewing, fermentation and aging in tanks, they are transferred to storage tanks which are connected directly to the pumps in the tasting room. This is only place you will be able to taste them!
Route de Nismes,26
Tel : 0032(0) 60 31 39 19
Web : http://www.brasseriedesfagnes.be
D - The steam railway Voir sur la carte
The Three Valleys Steam Railway is one of the most beautiful ‘museum networks’ in Europe. Go back in time aboard an authentic steam train and travel through the ‘Three Valleys’ to see incredible landscapes. Leaving from Mariembourg, the train goes through Nismes, Olloy/Viroin and Vierves to reach Treignes, the last station before the French border.
Length of visit: 40 minutes by steam train and 30 minutes by rail car.
Chaussée de Givet,49
Tel : 0032(0) 60 31 24 40
Web : http://cfv3v.in-site-out.com/
E - Reception and tourist information site Voir sur la carte
Syndicat d'initiative de Mariembourg
Place Marie de Hongrie, 1 - 5660 Mariembourg
F - A history lesson Voir sur la carte
The old town, once walled, still bears remarkable witness to its initial configuration. This demonstrates the importance of its position on the borders of the Principality of Liège, of which Couvin was one of the twenty-three ‘good towns’. ‘La Falaise’ (the cliff) provided spur from which to keep watch and provide protection, and a castle stood there from the Middle Ages. An explanatory leaflet on the route is available from the tourist office, which also organises guided tours for groups upon reservation.
G - Reception and tourist information site Voir sur la carte
Office du Tourisme de Couvin – tourisme.couvin.com
Maison du Tourisme des Vallées des Eaux Vives – www.valleesdeseauxvives.be
H - Hitler’s 1940 bunker and the museum of the resistance Voir sur la carte
On 6 June, Hitler arrived in Brûly-de-Pesche, surrounded by his staff. He directed the French campaign from here, naming the spot the ‘Wolf’s Ravine’. Today, the site still bears the remains of his stay. Two pavilions have been reconstructed here, similar to those of 1940. The first contains numerous photographs of the time and DVD films (FR/NL/GB). Nearby, a second pavilion commemorates the resistance led by Group D of the Hotton service. Finally, in the park created by an architect in 1940, visitors will discover the imposing bunker.
Length of visit : 1 hour
Tel : 0032(0) 60 34 01 40
Web : http://www.couvin.be