Wepion (Wepion )
A - Halte fluviale Voir sur la carte
Anchor at Wépion will permit you to taste, from may to august, the famous Wépion strawberries, known for their delicate flavour.
A mooring is possible on the left bank, shore of 'Grand Ry', cumulatives 39.500.
B - Wépion : Dave castle Voir sur la carte
Opposite Wépion, on the right bank, explore the village of Dave which spreads its serenity and its luxuriant beauty along the banks of the Meuse…
On the edge of the river, in a large, wooded park, stands Dave Castle or Fernan-Nunez Castle, bathed in red. In the 16th century, the seigniory of Dave, known as the “Viscountcy of Dave”, came by marriage into the hands of the Duke of Barbençon. In the 17th century, it became the property of the Houses of de Ligne and Arenberg, and the estate as a whole, despite the French Revolution, passed through the female line to Guttierez de Los Rios, Duke of Fernan-Nunez.
The family has remained in Dave to the present day, making frequent stays there.
This 17th-century building, of red bricks framed in blue stone, was modified in the 18th century and enlarged in the 19th century.
The castle replaced a medieval fortress which previously stood on the slopes.
C - Dave Fort Voir sur la carte
Dave Fort is one of nine forts built as part of the fortifications of Namur in Belgium at the end of the19th century. This fort was built between 1888 and 1892. During the siege of Namur in August 1914, the fort was heavily bombarded by German artillery. Dave Fort was restored in 1930 in the hope of preventing or slowing a then hypothetical German attack. It was attacked on 15 May 1940 and captured nine days later. The fort is currently abandoned.
D - The Néviau Rocks Voir sur la carte
This superb rocky crag is highly prized by all sorts of mountaineers and climbers. The Belgian Alpine Club climbs here regularly.